Team India Moved down from No :1 in Points Table -New Rules in ICC Test Championship

The ICC World Test Championship is a league competition for Test cricket run by the International Cricket Council (ICC), which started on 1 August 2019.It is intended to be the premier championship for Test cricket. Reason behind the Test Championship is to  keep this format alive for future generations due to the modern changes in the T20 era  of Cricket.

The first ICC World Test Championship started after the 2019 Cricket World Cup  from 1 August 2019, with the Ashes series with the new invention of players name and jersey number for the first time in Test Cricket. It was a perfect Kick start for the Test Match Championship with the Ashes, It gave us the perfect entertainment in the Test Match series as we all could remember and get back our memories of Ben Stokes remarkable Innings in Leeds.

Also, ICC have decided points table for this Championship and finalised Lords as the Venue to host the Final(Home of Cricket) in June 2021. According to the ICC Test Championship, each of the nine top-ranked sides will play six series over two years with each series counting for a maximum of 120 points, irrespective of the number of matches in the series. India will not play against Pakistan because each team has picked six opponents .The top two teams on the ICC World test championship points table will play the final at Lord’s on June, 2021.

New Rules by ICC:

After this Covid Situation, Teams were not able to travel to other countries for Test Championship except England , West Indies, Pakistan no other Teams played Test Cricket in 2020. So It is impossible to finalize the Top -2 Teams within June 2021 .So , they invented new rules with winning percentage . According to the Rules, the team with the highest percentage of wins will be the Finalist of the Test Championship.It indicates that winning percentage of the team .(For example: In 10 Match if a win team 8 matches their winning percentage is 80%) which will be calculated with the total number of matches rather than the Series points(120). After these rules, India moved down to 2nd spot and Australia claimed the first spot with the maximum win Percentage in the ICC Test Championship.

Points Table After New Rules:


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Most Popular

To Top